Site Council

What is Site Council?
The Lake Harriet Community School (LHCS) Site Council is the school’s site leadership team. As the advisory and planning body for LHCS, it is a forum for staff and parents to provide direction to the administration and to enhance student achievement. The purpose of the Site Council is to examine existing or proposed policies and procedures and make recommendations to ensure sustained student achievement.
The Site Council’s responsibilities include, but are not limited to; long-range planning, monitoring of the school budget, advocating for our school’s needs and regular assessment of the effectiveness of LHCS's shared-decision making.


Site Council Members (2018-19)

Walter Schleisman  (Administrative Co-Chair)

Merry Tilleson (Administrative Co-Chair)

Kate Kerfoot (Parent Co-Chair)

Ashley Gillingham - Assistant Principal, Administrative Representative 

Kim Kaplan- Family Coordinator (Staff/Parent Representative)

Jason Burgmaier- Parent Representative

Mekea Duffy – Parent Representative

Betsy Wagner– Parent Representative

Krista Margolis– Parent Representative

Jason Walker – Parent Representative

Heidi Weaver – Parent Representative

Scott Devens – Teacher Representative, Lower Campus

Sheri Sisler – Teacher Representative Rep, Lower Campus

Lynne McCoy - Social Worker, Upper Campus

Abir Ismail - Teacher Representative, Upper Campus


2018-2019 Subcommittees

Each member of the Site Council is placed on a subcommittee with the possible exception of the parent co-chair, who can act in a "floating" capacity and fills in where needed. Each subcommittee sets up a schedule that works for the group to complete its assigned tasks. Each subcommittee reports back on the status of their work at each meeting. In addition to the committee chairs, individuals can join the subcommittees on an ad-hoc basis.



Parent Members:

Betsy Wagner

Krista Margolis


Teaching/Staff Members

Merry Tilleson

Abir Ismail     

Ashley Gillingham


Planning and Advocacy

Parent Members:

Jason Burgmaier

Mekea Duffy

Kate Kerfoot

Heidi Weaver


Equity & Diversity (Formerly SIP)

Parent Members:

Raha Moaddeli

Jason Walker

Teaching/Staff Members

Walter Schleisman

Lynne McCoy



Send questions, suggestions, concerns or ideas for Site Council to the parent co-chair, Kate Kerfoot 


Rhonda Bonnabeau

More Information

Send questions, suggestions, concerns or ideas for Site Council to the parent co-chair, Karen Knapp

PDF 2018 LHCS State of the School   --  Overview of Lake Harriet Community Schools academic and climate goals for the 2017/2018 school year.