How is my student assessed during the Kindergarten Assessment?

All Kindergarten students enrolled in the Minneapolis Public Schools are assessed in the fall, winter and spring. The assessments are individually administered by Early Childhood Cadre, a group of testers trained on its standardized administration using a standard set of materials. The Beginning and End of Kindergarten Assessments measure literacy and numeracy skills. More information on the Kindergarten assessment (pdf)

How is my student assessed during the Grade 1 Assessment?

All students enrolled in first grade are assessed in the fall, winter and spring with the district-developed Grade One Assessment. In reading, students receive scores on each of three reading dimensions: words read per minute, reading expression, and reading comprehension. In math, students are asked to identify numbers and quantities, count sets of objects, add and subtract numbers orally, and add single digit numbers. More information about the Grade 1 assessment (pdf)

What is the MCA Test?

The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA) are state tests in reading, mathematics, and science that are used to meet federal and state legislative requirements. The tests are administered every year to measure student performance relative to the Minnesota Academic Standards that specify what students in a particular grade should know and be able to do. 


What are all of these other testing acronyms and names: MTAS, EXPLORE and ACCESS?

MTAS – Minnesota Test of Academic Skills
MTAS is a performance-based assessment in reading, mathematics and science for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is the alternate assessment available in every grade in which the MCA-II is available and features substantial reductions in the complexity of the academic content standards.

ACCESS for ELLs® stands for Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State for English Language Learners. This large-scale test addresses the academic English language proficiency (ELP) standards at the core of the WIDA Consortium's approach to instructing and evaluating the progress of English language learners. (Replacing the TEAE and Solom tests)

The EXPLORE test is administered to Minneapolis 8th grade students in the fall of each school year; the costs associated with the administration of the EXPLORE are paid for by the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE). EXPLORE has four academic tests: English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science. A Composite Score (score range 1-25) summarizes performance across all four academic tests. In addition to the academic tests, students complete an interest inventory and needs assessment. For more information about the EXPLORE test, please visit the ACT Web site at .

What is an IEP?

An Individual Education Plan is a ‘goals and support’ plan for students with specific special education needs.
Details: Kids with delayed skills or other disabilities might be eligible for special services that provide individualized education programs in public schools. Parents can now work with educators to develop a plan — the individualized education program (IEP) — to help kids succeed in school. The IEP describes the goals the team sets for a child during the school year, as well as any special support needed to help achieve them.

What does ELL stand for?

ELL stands English Language Learners- those students who do not speak fluent English.

What does ELP stand for?

English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards

What is the MDE?

Minnesota Department of Education