Research & Primary Source Resources

Updated: 1-5-17   ***If you have sites to recommend, e-mail me. Please let me know if a link is not "live". -Ms. Krawetz :-)

Minneapolis Labor Review Archives  ***Excellent for Minnesota labor topics such as Willmar 8, Reserve Mining, or MFT Strike

Public Libraries 
Hennepin County Library    Minnesota History Center Library     University of Minnesota Library
 

Primary Source Links   

Library of Congress

National Archives

American HIstory
Repositories of Primary Sources: http://webpages.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html
Yale Law School Avalon Project: http://avalon.law.yale.edu/
Harvard University Open Collection: http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/
Famous Trials UMKC Law School: http://www.law.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/ftrials.htm
American Journeys:  http://www.americanjourneys.org/index.asp
Accounts of Early American Exploration: http://www.americanjourneys.org/index.asp

World History
Euro Docs: http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
A Short History of the World: http://www.bartleby.com/86/

Primary Sources: News Links for Present & Past Stories:
National Public Radio:  http://www.npr.org/
Library of Congress -- Historic American Newspapers: http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
Minnesota Public Radio:  http://news.minnesota.publicradio.org/
New York Times:  http://www.nyt.com
New York Times Archives: http://nytimes.com
Star Tribune: http://www.startribune.com/
Newsweek:  http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032542/site/newsweek/
Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/
Time Magazine Archives:http://www.time.com/time/archiveTime Magazine  http://www.time.com/time/
Time for Kids: http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/class/index.htm
Minnesota Historical Society Newspaper Database: http://sites.mnhs.org/library/content/newspaper-collection/
Listing of Minnesota Newspapers:  http://www.usnpl.com/mnnews.php

Secondary & Tertiary Sources -- Online Encyclopedias 
Encyclopedia.com: http://www.encyclopedia.com/
Yahoo Encyclopedia: http://education.yahoo.com/reference/encyclopedia/
Encyclopedia Britannica:  http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/186436/Encarta/
World Book Classic 1911 Encyclopedia:  http://www.1911encyclopedia.org/Main_Page
World Book Online: http://www.worldbookonline.com/wb/products?ed=all&gr=Welcome+Minneapolis+Public+Sch+Dist

Minnesota History
Minnesota Historical Society:  http://www.mnhs.org/
Minnesota Historical Society History for Minnesota topics: http://www.mnhs.org/school/historyday/index.html
Minnesota Historical Society GLBT Collection with documents  from the early 1970's:  http://www.mnhs.org/collections/museum/glbt/glbt.htm
Minnesota Historical Photography Resources and Data Base: 

http://collections.mnhs.org/visualresources/
History of Minnesota: http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/history/mnstatehistory/index.shtml
Minnesota Public Radio:  http://minnesota.publicradio.org/

U.S. History
History Matters: . History and Primary Sources http://www.historymatters.gmu.edu/
American Memory (Library of Congress): http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/
America's Story (Library of Congress): http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi
Smithsonian National Museum of American History:  http://americanhistory.si.edu/explorer/index.cfm
Museum of Broadcast Communications (Great for Edward R. Murrow)  http://www.museum.tv/museumsection.php
Academy of Achievement: Biographies of extraordinary leaders and thinkers who shaped our world. http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/pagegen/index.html
History Channel Speeches, videos, science, technology, history, etc. http://www.historychannel.com
Culture Gram: Learn about different Cultures, Countries and States: http://online.culturegrams.com/index.php
PBS History Site:  http://www.pbs.org/history/
Our Documents, In Primary Sources also: http://www.ourdocuments.gov/
The National Archives: http://www.archives.gov/
Baseball Almanac: http://www.baseball-almanac.com/

World History
World War I Links: http://www.firstworldwarlinks.com/mainlinks.htmWorld War II Timeline: http://history.sandiego.edu/gen/WW2Timeline/start.html
c=gvKVLcMVIuG&b=358201l
Hyper History:  http://www.hyperhistory.com
World History Compass: http://www.worldhistorycompass.com/
World History 101:  http://historylink101.com/
Marco History: http://www.fsmitha.com/
History Channel World History: http://www.history.com/topics/worldhistory
Women in World History: http://www.womeninworldhistory.com/resources.html
ALA World History Sites for Kids: http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/greatwebsites/greatwebsitesworld.htm
WorldHistoryPrimarySources: http://www.nationalhistoryday.org/WorldHistoryPrimarySources.htm
World History -- Primary Source Archives, Bartleby: http://www.bartleby.com/86/Web Links to Hiroshima:  http://www.dannen.com/hiroshima_links.html

Jewish History and Holocaust and Studies
Museum of Jewish Heritage: http://www.mjhnyc.org/
Center for Jewish History: http://www.cjh.org/p/131
Virtual Jewish Museum: http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/
Virtual Israel Experience: http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/vie/Jerusalem1.html
American Jewish Historical Society: http://www.ajhs.org/reference/library.cfm
LA Museum of the Holocaust: www.lamoth.org
Yad  Vashem: www.yadvashem.org
USC Shoah Foundation: http://college.usc.edu/vhi/
United States Holocaust Museum: http://www.ushmm.org/
White Rose Resistance Movement: http://www.ushmm.org/wlc/article.php?lang=en&ModuleId=10007188
Simon Wiesenthal Museum of Tolerance: http://motlc.wiesenthal.com/site/pp.asp?

Women's History
Gift of Speech:  Women's Speeches from Around the World: http://gos.sbc.edu/National Women's History Project. Has Suffrage Movement information: http://www.nwhp.org/
PBS: Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: https://www.pbs.org/stantonanthony/resources/index.html?body=weblinks.html
National Women's History Museum: http://www.nmwh.org/
American Women's History: A Research Guide:  http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html
Internet Women's History Source Book:  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/women/womensbook.html
American Women's History, Finding Primary Sources:  http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-primary.html
National Women's Hall of Fame: http://www.greatwomen.org/
About: Biographies, Quotes and Suffrage Movement: http://womenshistory.about.com/

African American History
Notable African American Women: http://womenshistory.about.com/library/bio/blbio_list_afram.htm
African American Odyssey:  http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html
African American Women, Duke University: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html
African American World: http://www.pbs.org/wnet/aaworld/
The African American Registry: http://www.aaregistry.com/
About African American History: http://afroamhistory.about.com/

Science, Math, and Medicine
Dr. Math:  http://mathforum.org/library/drmath/sets/mid_probability.html
Mad Science Network, Live Scientists Answering Your Questions Online 24/7:  http://www.madsci.org/
National Science Foundation: http://www.nsf.gov/
Cyber Sleuth on Science: http://www.cybersleuth-kids.com/sleuth/Science/
Science Daily:  http://www.sciencedaily.com/
Web List of Science and Math sties: http://www.ncsu.edu/felder-public/kenny/edulinks.html
Science Gov:  http://www.science.gov/
NASA History: https://www.nasa.gov/topics/history/index.html
Science Museum, UK:  http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/
Evolution and Darwin:  http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/evolution/darwin/
Science News for Kids: http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/
Cool Science for Curious Kids:  http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/
History of Medicine:  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/hmd/
How Stuff Works:  http://www.howstuffworks.com/

Photo Images and Political Cartoons
Life Magazine Photography and Covers 1936-1972: http://www.life.com
Photo Museum: http://www.photomuse.com/
University of Minnesota Image Library: http://digital.lib.umn.edu/
National Archives Photo Images: http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/index.html
Minnesota Historical Photography Resources: http://collections.mnhs.org/visualresources/
American Rhetoric, Online Speech Bank:  http://www.americanrhetoric.com/
Camera Works:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/photo/?nav=globetop

General Search Engines
Google:  http://google.com
Alta Vista:  http://www.altavista.com/
Kid Info, Includes History Search engines: http://www.kidinfo.com
Yahoo:  http://www.yahoo.com
Kids Click: Search Site for Kids:  http://www.kidsclick.org/
Yahooligans: http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/
About, Organized by subject: http://about.com
Dog Pile: http://dogpile.com/
Ask Jeeves:  http://www.ask.com/

University of Minnesota Library Resources
Home Page: http://www.lib.umn.edu/
Law Library: http://www.law.umn.edu/library/home.html
Bio-Medical Library: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/

Law and Government:  Minnesota
Minnesota Statutes, Laws and Rules: https://www.revisor.mn.gov/pubs/
Minnesota's State Constitution, MHS: http://www.mnhs.org/library/constitution/index.html
Minnesota Legislative History: http://www.mnhs.org/library/tips/legislative/legislative.html
Minnesota State Law Library: http://www.lawlibrary.state.mn.us/

The Federal Government
Law Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/law/
Biographical Guide to US Congress:  http://bioguide.congress.gov/biosearch/biosearch.asp
Congressional Black Caucus: http://www.thecongressionalblackcaucus.com/
Ben's Guide to US Government: http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
US Senate Official Site:  http://www.senate.gov/
House of Representatives Official Site:  http://www.house.gov/
Supreme Court of the .  http://www.supremecourtus.gov/
Declaration of Independence: http://www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/declaration.html
United States Constitution: http://www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/constitution.html
How Does Government Affect Me? PBS Kids: http://pbskids.org/democracy/mygovt/index.html
The American Presidency, From the Smithsonian Collection: http://americanhistory.si.edu/presidency/home.html
Department of Justice:  http://www.usdoj.gov/
FBI Kids Page:  http://www.fbi.gov/fbikids.htm
Census Kids' Corner:  http://factfinder.census.gov/home/en/kids/kids.html