Read-a-thon Gets Ready to Rock
Tuesday, February 12, 2008 7:45 AM

Reading Rocks! is the theme of the 2008 Read-a-thon which kicks off on Monday, February 25. This year’s K-5 event is both a fundraiser and a fun-raiser. Students track minutes read at home and collect pledges to support their efforts. Every student raising $75 or more will receive a Reading Rocks t-shirt. Read-a-thon packets will be sent home on Tuesday, February 19.  Click here for links to download the packets and more information.

A variety of activities are planned including Book Clubs, Mystery Readers, DEAR Days, a book drive and more! Mark your calendar for these important dates:

  • Tuesday, Feb. 19: Read-a-thon packets go home to families. Start collecting pledges.
  • Monday, Feb. 25 & Tuesday, Feb. 26:Kick-off assemblies at both campuses (students only).
  • Tuesday, Feb. 26, 6:30-7:30 p.m.: Evening event at Lower Campus for K-2 families. Join us for an evening of fun activities including bookmark making, face painting, and an instrument petting zoo. We’ll wind up the evening with stories read by Assistant Principals, Anne Wade and Jay Alexander.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 26: Dress as your favorite character day. Whether it’s Harry Potter or Junie B. Jones, let’s transform our school into literature come alive. This is a school spirit day for grades K-8.
  • Sunday, Mar. 9, noon-4 p.m. : Wild Rumpus Talent Show & Book Fair.
  • Sunday, Mar. 9: Last day of Read-a-thon. Add up minutes and finish collecting pledges. Pledges due by Tuesday, March 18.
  • Tuesday, Mar. 18: Turn in pledges by this date. T-shirt for everyone raising $75. Ice Cream Party at lower campus.
  • Wednesday, Mar. 19: Ice Cream Party for Upper Campus students who turned in pledges by March 18.

Let’s get our students reading because READING ROCKS!